Wood Awards 2021 launches call for entries

The Wood Awards: Excellence in British Architecture and Product Design, has now launched its 2021 call for entries. Anyone involved in a UK-based wood project is invited to enter and has until 25 June to submit their applications. There is no entry fee.

Established in 1971, the Wood Awards recognises, encourages and promotes outstanding wood design, craftsmanship and installation throughout the UK. The Wood Awards’ elite independent judging panel not only judges all submitted entries, but also visits the shortlisted projects in person, making the Wood Awards a uniquely rigorous competition.The Awards are split into two main categories: 'Furniture & Product' and 'Buildings'. The Gold Award is given to the project that the judges deem to be the winner of winners.


'Duo' – 2020 winner 

Jim Greaves of Hopkins Architects has been appointed as Chair of buildings judges – he comments: “Having been a judge for the last 17 years, it is a great honour to be asked to chair the buildings panel. Despite restrictive regulatory and insurance challenges, wood has become an increasingly important construction material and it is now often the first choice for architects, designers, engineers and developers, offering lower carbon, biophilic, and regenerative solutions. As a consequence, the standard of entries for the Wood Awards has been rising year upon year and it's a great privilege to be able to assess, and learn from, the many exemplar projects being put forward for consideration.” The 2021 buildings categories will be confirmed later this year, but they are likely to be 'Commercial & Leisure', 'Education & Public Sector', 'Interiors', 'Private' and 'Small Project'. Other awards, such as Structural and Existing Building awards, can be given at the judges’ discretion.


'The Rye Apartments' – 2020 Gold Award winner

Design critic, curator and journalist Corinne Julius has returned as Chair of furniture judges. The Furniture & Product competition will be split into 'Bespoke' and 'Production Made'. The usual Student Designer category will be postponed until 2022 to help students who have been affected by COVID-19 disruptions. With permission from the owner, anyone associated with a building or product completed in the last two years, can enter. Buildings must be located within the UK while furniture and other products must have been either designed or manufactured in the UK. Fitted furniture must be in the UK. There are no restrictions on the size or budget of a project. Entrants may submit more than one project. Entries must be submitted via woodawards.com.

The 2021 shortlist will be announced in September. The Wood Awards has ambitious plans for a novel and exciting finale to the competition, details of which will be announced in due course.

As a not-for-profit competition, the Wood Awards can only happen with collaborative industry sponsorship. Major Sponsors of the Wood Awards 2021 are American Hardwood Export Council, The Carpenters' Company and Timber Trade Federation. Other sponsors include American Softwoods and TRADA.

For more information on the Wood Awards 2021, see www.woodawards.com and follow @WoodAwards and #WoodAwards2021 on social media.

The Wood Awards
c/o Distrikt Communications
07967 605 213